Frequently Asked Questions About Auto Accidents
August 31, 2020
Auto accidents are very serious and what happens in the aftermath can be confusing to say the least. After you’ve been in an auto accident, you may have a number of questions about what to do next. Today, we’re going to answer those questions, along with any questions may have not even thought of.
I was in an accident that wasn’t my fault but the insurance adjuster for the person at fault is asking me to give a recorded statement. Is this something I should do?
Do not give a recorded statement to the insurance adjuster. If the person at fault decides to pursue legal action, they can use those recorded statements against you in the future.
I was hit by an uninsured motorist. I don’t have auto insurance of my own because I don’t have a car. How am I going to pay for these expenses?
If you live in the state of Pennsylvania, you might be eligible for what is known as a “Assigned Claims Plan.” This special type of claim, if you meet all of the criteria, would allow you to recover up to $15,000, including up to $5,000 in medical benefits and $10,000 in additional damages.
I was a passenger in a car and was injured when the driver struck a telephone pole. Neither the driver or myself were insured at the time. Is there any way I can claim money for my injuries?
This is another situation where you might be eligible for the “Assigned Claims Plan.” Please seek out the advise of a professional attorney to see if you are eligible.
If I live in PA and drive to another state, am I still covered in that other state? If I have an accident in another state, how does that effect the other driver?
If your vehicle is covered in Pennsylvania, then you are covered in whatever state you drive to. If you were to get into an accident in another state, then any legal procedures would be pursued within the laws of the state in which the accident occurred.
When does an insurance company have the right to deny a claim?
A company can deny a claim based on a few different things:
- When an insured person doesn’t live up to their end of the contract
- When a claim is not covered
- When a claim is fraudulent
- When the insured is not responsible for an accident
- Why do I have to prove negligence in a case?
Negligence, or carelessness, needs to be proven in order to show that the person responsible for your injuries did not show caution under the law, and that the situation could have been prevented had they adhered to the law.
How long do I have to file a claim?
The Statue of Limitations depends on the type of legal claim you wish to file, however it is recommended that you see legal counsel as soon as possible in order to make your claim.
Contact A Personal Injury Attorney for a Consultation About Your Motor Vehicle Accident Case in Pennsylvania
Were you or a loved one injured due to a motor vehicle accident in Pennsylvania? Then you need to talk to an experienced medical malpractice lawyer as soon as possible for guidance on how to proceed. The Pittsburgh personal injury attorneys at Quinn Logue, LLC, are prepared to assist you with your legal claim. We represent victims of motor vehicle accidents throughout Pennsylvania, including Pittsburgh and Scranton. Call us today at 412-765-3800 or fill out our online contact form to schedule a consultation. Our main office is located at 200 First Ave., 3rd Floor, Pittsburgh, and we also have offices in Scranton.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.